Press Release

BPAA to Honor Tom Martino with Victor Lerner Memorial Medal

posted on


ARLINGTON, Texas - (January 19, 2018) - The Bowling Proprietors' Association of America (BPAA) is proud to announce the recipients of the 2018 Bowling Industry Service Awards, the most prestigious awards presented by the bowling industry. 

Tom Martino (Majestic Lanes, Hopelawn, New Jersey) has been selected as the 2018 BPAA Hall of Fame Inductee and recipient of the Victor Lerner Memorial Medal.  The Lerner Medal is the highest honor awarded by the BPAA and recognizes an individual for a lifetime of service to the bowling industry and represents the recipient's induction into BPAA's Hall of Fame located at the International Bowling Museum and Hall of Fame in Arlington, Texas.

Mr. Martino entered the bowling industry over 40 years ago and served not only at the state level but on national committees and the Bowling Proprietors’ Association of America (BPAA) Board of Directors and Strike Ten Entertainment Board of Directors where he currently serves as Chairman.  

Diane Voight (Community Bowling Centers, Livonia, Michigan)) will be recognized with the President’s Medal for her many contributions and years of service to the BPAA, not only as an At Large Director on the BPAA Board of Directors but also as past Chairman of the Executive Evaluation Committee and current member of the Nominating Committee.  The President’s Medal is given to an individual judged to have given exceptional support and/or made significant contributions to the association in the eyes of the current BPAA president.

Albert Blough (CHB Sports, Reading, Pennsylvania) will receive the coveted V. A. Wapensky Award, named after BPAA's long-time chief executive officer, "Chief" Wapensky.  Mr. Blough is being recognized for his 50 years of passion and enthusiasm for the sport of bowling.  He currently serves as the President of the BPA of PA, is a member of the BPAA Board of Directors as well as the Multi Unit Bowling Information Group (MUBIG).

Shannon O’Keefe (O’Fallon, Illinois) is being recognized with the Dick Weber Bowling Ambassador Award, named after the legendary bowling icon, recognizing her passion for the game and sport of bowling both on and off the lanes.

Jack McCarthy (Fern Valley Strike & Spare, Louisville, Kentucky) will be recognized with the Special Project award for his efforts in reviving the “Pin Car” which is in production and set to debut at International Bowl Expo 2018.

Keith Hamilton (Chicago, Illinois) will receive the 2018 Media Award.  As a member of the Luby Publishing team for over 30 years, he is currently President as well as an award-winning journalist.            

Nancy Schenk, BPAA President and Awards Committee Chairman, stated, "Again this year the committee had many conversations to select individuals in our industry that lead with humble service and passionate dedication, and we congratulate and thank all our award winners for their countless contributions to our industry."

The Bowling Industry Service Awards will be presented at the Annual Awards Luncheon, Tuesday, June 19, 2018, during International Bowl Expo 2018 at Paris Hotel in Las Vegas.  The Lerner Memorial Medal presentation will take place during the general session on Wednesday morning.


About BPAA
Founded in 1932, the mission of Bowling Proprietors’ Association of America (BPAA) is to enhance the profitability of its members.  Headquartered in Arlington, Texas, at the International Bowling Campus, the BPAA offers it's over 3,400 member centers business and educational seminars, legislative representation, group purchasing opportunities and proactively promotes the association and bowling industry.  For additional information please visit or call 1-800-343-1329.

| Categories: Headlines | Tags: | View Count: (5805) | Return

Post a Comment